Lotus Eletre: Pre-launch photos leaked

Lotus is best known for its two-seat sports cars. From James Bond’s Lotus Esprit to the Elise, Exige, and Evora, it’s an iconic brand with a long performance pedigree but undergoing a major transformation. The company, which is now owned by Chinese car group Geely (alongside companies like Polestar ), plans to launch four electric cars in different segments. The first is the Lotus Eletre, formerly known by the code name Lotus Type 132. We already know this is an electric SUV, so quite a change for Lotus.

When will the Lotus Eletre be presented?

The launch of the Lotus Eletre will take place on Tuesday, March 29, 2022, at 7:30 p.m. in London. Here are the worldwide times for your reference:

  • San Francisco–11:30 AM PDT
  • New York – 2:30 p.m. EDT
  • London – 19:30 BST
  • Berlin – 20:30 CEST
  • New Delhi – 00:00 IST, 30 Mar
  • Tokyo – 03:30 JST, 30 Mar
  • Sydney – 05:30 AEDT, 30 Mar

Can I watch the Lotus Eletre launch online?

Yes, Lotus has confirmed that you can follow the launch on YouTubeFacebook, or Lotuscars.com. We’ll try to embed the video here as soon as it’s available.

What to expect from the Lotus Eletre

Lotus has been announcing Lotus Type 132 for some time. Originally it was said that it would be an SUV in the E segment. That suggests this car isn’t intended for the mass market but will be exclusive – and that’s what we’ve come to expect from this new breed of Lotus car.

Teaser videos have focused on things like carbon fiber materials, modern aggressive lines, and an emphasis on speed and lightness. It’s what Lotus is known for and we expect the Lotus Type 132 – now known as the Lotus Eletre – to be a showcase of everything Lotus has done in the past.

This is a big change for Lotus, so we expect performance numbers to impress, we expect to hear a lot about ride and handling, the sports car pedigree, and the heritage that comes from the race track. But behind it all, we expect something technologically advanced, paving the way for the electric Lotus cars that will follow it.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Back to top button